Queen’s College is governed by the three Anglican Dioceses of Newfoundland and Labrador: the Diocese of Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador, the Diocese of Central Newfoundland, and the Diocese of Western Newfoundland. Each diocesan bishop is a member of the governing body – the Queen’s College Corporation – with one of the bishops always holding the title of Chancellor and Chair of the Corporation meetings and Executive Committee.


The Corporation of Queen’s College, under its Constitution and Act of Incorporation, is composed of thirteen individuals: three appointed by each of the bishops from the aforementioned dioceses, the three bishops themselves, and the Provost (as ex-officio). The bishops and Corporation appoint the Provost (who is also Vice-Chancellor) to oversee and manage the College between bi-annual meetings of the Corporation. For a listing of current members of the Corporation please see Faculty and Staff.



While affiliated with Memorial University of Newfoundland, the College is self-governing and awards degrees in theology under its Act of Incorporation granted to it by charter of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. Queen’s College is one of only two degree-granting institutions in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, the other being Memorial University.